home button
site comments contact information Related Links home button
about the rhf button
the inductees
about the jury
James Morris,
Jury Moderator
Minoru Asada
Ron Baillie
Ruzena Bajcsy
Anne Balsamo
Fred Barton
Gordon Bell
Rodney Brooks
Randal Bryant
Henrik Christensen
Arthur C. Clarke
Anthony Daniels
Joanna Haas
Ray Jarvis
Takeo Kanade
Dan Kara
Don Marinelli
Matt Mason
Illah Nourbakhsh
Raj Reddy
Chuck Thorpe
Daniel H. Wilson
Steve Wozniak
Will Wright
nominate a robot
news and events

Manuela M. Veloso is Herbert Simon Professor of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University. She earned her Ph.D. in Computer Science from Carnegie Mellon. She also received a B.S. in Electrical Engineering in 1980 and an M.Sc. in Electrical and Computer Engineering in 1984 from the Instituto Superior Tecnico in Lisbon.

Manuela Veloso researches in the area of artificial intelligence with focus on planning, control learning, and execution for single and multi-robot teams. Her algorithms address uncertain, dynamic, and adversarial environments. Veloso has developed teams of robot soccer agents, which have been RoboCup world champions several times.

She has a long research experience of classic deterministic planning by analogy transfer, and more recently she has developed probabilistic plan and policy reuse algorithms. Veloso also investigates learning approaches to a variety of control problems, including the performance optimization of algorithm implementations, and plan recognition in complex data sets.

Dr. Veloso strongly endorses the Carnegie Mellon Technology Bridge World effort. She created the new "V-unit" project that provides an opportunity for graduate students to grow a vision of how computer science and technology can affect non-traditional problems dealing with society, ecology, and sustained development.

Manuela Veloso is a Fellow of the American Association of Artificial Intelligence and Vice President of the RoboCup International Federation. She was awarded an NSF Career Award in 1995 and the Allen Newell Medal for Excellence in Research in 1997. Dr. Veloso was Program Co-Chair of 2005 National Conference on Artificial Intelligence and is now the Program Chair of the 2007 International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence.

Back to the Top


Copyright Information. Site by Wall-to-Wall Studios. This site is enhanced with Macromedia FlashTM technology. Click here to download the plug-in.