home button
site comments contact information Related Links home button
about the rhf button
the inductees
about the jury
James Morris,
Jury Moderator
Ron Baillie
Ruzena Bajcsy
Anne Balsamo
Fred Barton
Gordon Bell
Rodney Brooks
Randal Bryant
Henrik Christensen
Arthur C. Clarke
Anthony Daniels
Joanna Haas
Ray Jarvis
Takeo Kanade
Dan Kara
Don Marinelli
Matt Mason
Illah Nourbakhsh
Raj Reddy
Chuck Thorpe
Sherry Turkle
Manuela Veloso
Daniel H. Wilson
Steve Wozniak
Will Wright
nominate a robot
news and events

Minoru Asada received the B.E., M.E., and Ph.D., degrees in control engineering from Osaka University, Osaka, Japan, in 1977, 1979, and 1982, respectively. From 1982 to 1988, he was a Research Associate of Control Engineering, Osaka University, Toyonaka, Osaka, Japan. In April 1989, he became an Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering for Computer-Controlled Machinery, Osaka University, Suita, Osaka, Japan. In April 1995 he became a Professor of the same department. Since April 1997, he has been a Professor of the department of Adaptive Machine Systems at the same university. From August 1986 to October 1987, he was a visiting researcher at the Center for Automation Research, University of Maryland, College Park, MD.

He has received the 1992 best paper award of IEEE/RSJ International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems (IROS92), and the 1996 best paper award of RSJ (Robotics Society of Japan). Also, his paper was one of the ten finalists of IEEE Robotics and Automation Society 1995 Best Conference Paper Award. He was a general chair of IEEE/RSJ 1996 International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems (IROS96). Since early 1990, he has been involved in RoboCup activities and his team was the first champion team with the USC team in the middle size league of the first RoboCup held in conjunction with IJCAI-97, Nagoya, Japan. In 2001, he received a Commendation by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Japanese Government as a Person of Distinguished Services to Enlightening People on Science and Technology. Since 2002, he has been the president of the International RoboCup Federation.

IEEE Fellow since 2005. He has been a research director for JST ERATO Asada Synergistic Intelligence Project since September, 2005.

Back to the Top


Copyright Information. Site by Wall-to-Wall Studios. This site is enhanced with Macromedia FlashTM technology. Click here to download the plug-in.