home button
site comments contact information Related Links home button
about the rhf button
the inductees
about the jury
James Morris,
Jury Moderator
Minoru Asada
Ron Baillie
Ruzena Bajcsy
Anne Balsamo
Fred Barton
Gordon Bell
Rodney Brooks
Randal Bryant
Henrik Christensen
Arthur C. Clarke
Anthony Daniels
Joanna Haas
Ray Jarvis
Takeo Kanade
Dan Kara
Don Marinelli
Matt Mason
Illah Nourbakhsh
Raj Reddy
Sherry Turkle
Manuela Veloso
Daniel H. Wilson
Steve Wozniak
Will Wright
nominate a robot
news and events

Chuck Thorpe is Dean of the Carnegie Mellon branch campus in Qatar. He has been a member of The Robotics Institute since its founding in 1979, and was Director from 2000 to 2004.

Since 1984, he has worked on the development of outdoor robotic vehicles, focusing on computer vision, planning and architectures for these machines. Thorpe and his Navlab research group have built a series of 11 robotic cars, trucks, and buses for military and civilian research. He and his team have pioneered new methods in stereo vision, laser rangefinding, 3-D terrain modeling, neural networks for perception, route planning, driver performance modeling, traffic simulation, teleoperation, vehicle control on rough terrain and system architectures.

He received his doctor's degree in computer science from Carnegie Mellon in 1984 and his undergraduate degree in natural science from North Park College in Chicago, Ill. in 1979.

He is a Fellow of the American Association for Artificial Intelligence.

Back to the Top


Copyright Information. Site by Wall-to-Wall Studios. This site is enhanced with Macromedia FlashTM technology. Click here to download the plug-in.